Recipe #17: Whole Wheat Loaves

I missed the nectarine cake 2 weeks ago, so I’ll have to come back to that someday.  (I have the nectarines in the fridge, but just haven’t had the chance to bake the cake.  Too many trips out of town lately.)  So today I made vegetarian spaghetti sauce with zucchini, onions, eggplant, and tomatoes from my garden, and baked up the whole wheat loaves to go with it for dinner.  I almost killed my kitchenaid mixer in the process, but thankfully, after the smoke cleared and the engine cooled, it now turns on again.  Maybe hand-kneading is in order for whole wheat loaves from now on.

Yesterday I went on a mission to find malt extract.  None at the grocery store, none at our local kitchen store, but alas, success at the Staple and Spice Market.  I should have gone there first!

Rising for the second time in the loaf pans…

Warm homemade bread and butter…one of the good things in life.

Our hosts this week, Michele from Veggie Num Nums and Teresa of The Family That Bakes Together have the recipe on their blogs.  Check it out.  It’s a keeper!

3 thoughts on “Recipe #17: Whole Wheat Loaves

  1. It can be a little scary to knead bread in the KitchenAid – can’t go above 2, even if the recipe says so. We did most of the kneading in the KA and hand-kneaded it for the last little bit. Yours looks great. I like the colour folks get with the malt extract and syrup. We used molasses, which gives great flavour, but not that intense brown.

  2. Yeah, I have learned my KA’s quirks and abide by them, no matter what the recipe says. It’s much better for my heart that way.

    Your bread looks perfectly soft and chewy!

Leave a Reply

