Recipe #35: Tomato and Cheese Galette

So, I skipped recipe #34 because MY DAUGHTER GOT MARRIED LAST WEEK!  But this week I’m just washing all those beautiful table and chair coverings and putting away all the vases and candles, so plenty of time for a little Tomato and Cheese Galette.  (If you’re interested, check out a few wedding photos on the photographer’s blog:  Simon and Kate’s Wedding)  They are honeymooning right now, so no Galette for them.  Maybe I’ll make them one when they get home because it was super easy and “excellent” (to quote my mother).

The recipe can be found in the Baking with Julia Cookbook, or on several blogs that came up on a google search, one of which is here.

The galette pastry dough is the same one we made for the berry galette, recipe #14 Mixed Berry Galette. Not intimidating, comes together well in the food processor, and is tender and flaky.

IMG_2203

 

I had some store bought tomatoes that looked less than delicious, so I roasted them in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes, then broiled them for about 5 minutes. I forgot to buy fresh basil at the store, so I rummaged in the freezer and found some pesto that I made last summer from my garden basil.  I spread a layer of pesto on the rolled out crust, then a layer of shredded mozzarella and monterey jack.  I picked some swiss chard and spinach from my garden, sauted it with a little garlic, and added it as the next layer.  I topped it off with the roasted tomatoes, then a little more cheese.  After folding up the edges into a pleated little package, it went into the oven at 400 degrees for 45 minutes (a little longer than the recipe called for).  We loved it!

IMG_2205IMG_2206IMG_2209IMG_2211

6 thoughts on “Recipe #35: Tomato and Cheese Galette

  1. Wow, I love everything you added to your galette. It sounds and looks great!
    The wedding pics look fantastic….looks like it was a fabulous day. (great photographer pics)

Leave a Reply

