Recipe #2: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

I LOVE chocolate.  What could be better than a chocolate pastry crust filled with three different kinds of chocolate?  And the smell from the oven…fabulous! (to quote my nephew Jeff.)  The crust was easy to make in the food processor following the recipe, but I added 2 extra TBSP of ice water because of recommendations I read on the Tuesdays with Dorie blog.  The crust held together very well and rolled out perfectly with a little dusting of flour on top and bottom.

Since I was unable to find six 4 1/2 inch tart pans, I used what I found at the local kitchen store, and made eight 3 3/4 inch tartlets.  I had enough extra crust leftover to make about 2 more if I had wanted to.  The filling was just the right amount for the eight pans. The recipe said to put the dough into the tart pans, WITHOUT THE BOTTOMS, so I did it even though I thought it might not be such a good idea.  Well, it WAS a good idea because I had perfectly baked crust, and they easily popped right out of the pans!

Here’s a look at the chocolates and the biscotti I used in the recipe.  I only used 2 biscotti instead of 4 because they seemed really big to be putting 4 whole giant biscotti in there.

The bittersweet chocolate and butter melting in the double boiler: perhaps one of the best smells in the world.

The finished product, just out of the oven.  I baked them about 18 minutes instead of the 10-12 recommended because they still looked too gooey at 12 minutes.

Luckily I had a dinner invitation the night I made these so I didn’t have to eat them all myself.  So I packed them up on a tray (I left them in the pans until I got there so they wouldn’t get broken) and shared them with my friends.  A little scoop of vanilla ice cream was the perfect accompaniment to what I would call a decadent brownie in a chocolate pie crust.  I think next time I make these I will substitute semi-sweet chocolate for the white chocolate, which I thought was a little too sweet and unnecessary…and maybe a few pecans or walnuts?

Deliciously successful!  In two weeks, Rugelach:  “rolled-like-a-jelly-roll, filled-to-bursting cookies (with) a cream cheese dough, rich, sweet, flaky…”  Who wants to invite me over next?  I’ll bring the rugelach!

Here are the hosts for this week and their blogsites:

Steph
Blog: A whisk and a Spoon
http://awhiskandaspoon.com/

Spike
Blog: Spike.does.stuff
http://spikebakes.tumblr.com/

Jaime
Blog: Good Eats n’ Sweet Treats
http://www.goodeatsblog.com/

Jessica
Blog: Cook Book Habit
http://cookbookhabit.blogspot.com/

You can also see all the other bakers who baked along this week.
http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/

Thank you to Baking is my Zen blogger for posting these.  You have amazing photos by the way!   http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/twd-baking-with-julia-chocolate-truffle-tartlets-with-craisins-and-malt-balls/

9 thoughts on “Recipe #2: Chocolate Truffle Tartlets

Leave a Reply

