Recipe #3: Rugelach

As much fun to say as they are to eat…

Pronunciation of rugelach – how to pronounce rugelach correctly..

One of our hosts this week is Jessica, and you can find the recipe for the Rugelach on her blog:

TWD: Baking With Julia – Rugelach.

I made the rugelach on Friday, and they were really delicious while they were still warm, but I have to say they are still pretty delicious 4 days later (I know because I just ate another one!)  So, making the rugelach was WAY easier than I expected after I read through the recipe the first time.  First you make the dough in your handy Kitchen-Aid mixer out of butter, cream cheese, salt, sugar and flour.

Form the dough into two rectangles and pop them into the fridge for a couple of hours.

Then you get all your fillings and toppings ready to go.  I made the Apricot Lekvar on page 449, using Turkish apricots, Amaretto and toasted almonds.  My nut filling was a mixture of pecans and walnuts, and for dried fruit I used cranberries, cherries and blueberries.

When the dough is firm, you roll it out into a 10×14 inch rectangle, cut it in half lengthwise, spread on the lekvar, then the chopped nuts mixed with cinnamon and sugar, and then sprinkle on the dried fruits.

Roll each rectangle into a log, refrigerate again to firm up, then slice into 1 inch pieces and roll in MORE nuts and cinnamon-sugar.

My first batch in the oven cooked a little too fast and the sugar burned on the bottoms, so I turned down the oven temp to 350 and baked them for 25 minutes on double cookie sheets for batch number 2. Much better!

We went out with some friends to the Independent Ale House in downtown Rapid City on Friday night for some delicious brick oven pizza (and a few ales), and I shared my rugelach for dessert. The waitress even gave them two thumbs up, so we gave her the last few as a extra tip!

Irish Soda Bread coming up in 2 weeks (this also might go well with a glass of Ale to celebrate St. Patty’s Day I’m thinking!)

8 thoughts on “Recipe #3: Rugelach

Leave a Reply

