Recipe #6: Lemon Loaf Cake

The hosts for the recipe of the week are Truc of Treats and Michelle of The Beauty of Life.  They have some beautiful photos, much better than mine, so you might want to check them out.  Also, Michelle posted the recipe.

I made a double recipe of the cake so I could use it for a party Sunday night.  5 Stars for ease of making, 3 stars for flavor.  I would have liked a more lemony tang in the cake, so I think I will stick with my favorite lemon cake recipe from the Barefoot Contessa.  Check it out at the food network website:  Lemon Yogurt Cake Recipe : Ina Garten : Food Network.

A quick batter to mix up, except for the time needed to zest 6 lemons for the 2 cakes (and then it doesn’t even want you to use the juice?!!)

The cakes baked up nicely, but were a little dry. 

I decided to add a little lemon glaze to jazz it up…2 TBSP fresh lemon juice mixed with 1 cup powdered sugar. Better.

Final analysis, this is a good little recipe for a tea party:  quick, easy, and goes so well with a cup of tea or coffee.  But if I were making dessert for dinner and had a little extra time, I’d definitely go with Ina Garten’s recipe for Lemon Yogurt Cake.

Coming in May:

May 8, Hungarian Shortbread on page 327

May 22, Pecan Sticky Buns on page 190.

3 thoughts on “Recipe #6: Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. I agree. This did not rock my boat! I have not tried Ina’s yet. I do have all her books and have never been disappointed with any of her recipes I have made.

Leave a Reply

