Recipe #19: Bagels

It’s ok to try this at home! Making bagels sounds intimidating, but it really wasn’t that bad!  For the recipe, visit our host Heather on her blog, Heather’s Bytes.  Her bagels look so perfect in her beautiful photos.

I had to make a few changes in the recipe.  Since I had no high gluten flour on hand, I took advice from one of the comments on Tuesdays with Dorie added 1 teaspoon of vital wheat gluten per cup of bread flour.  I ended up using only about 5 1/2 cups of flour.  I think 6 cups would have been a little too tough (maybe I was a little short on the water?).  I also didn’t refrigerate them overnight, only about 2 hours, but I thought they still turned out fine.  Here are the step by step photos of the process:

After the first rise for an hour, the dough rests in the refrigerator.

Deflate the dough and make into 10 equal little dough balls, shaping and pinching according to the directions in the recipe.

Then you make nice little holes in the middle with your thumb.  Looks good, right?But then what happened to the holes?  They disappeared into the boiling pot.

But the end result was good, even without nice holes in the middle.  I used every kind of topping I could find …sesame seeds, parmesan cheese, cinnamon sugar, onion flakes, garlic powder, sea salt…and made a variety of bagels.Tasted great this morning, toasted with a little butter.

3 thoughts on “Recipe #19: Bagels

Leave a Reply

