Recipe #33: Savory Brioche Pockets and #8: Pecan Sticky Buns

Since I missed the making of the brioche dough and the sticky buns the first time around last May, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to divide the dough and make half into the savory pockets and the other half into the pecan sticky buns.  The Tuesdays with Dorie host for the pecan buns was Lynn on her blog, Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat.  The host for the savory pockets this week is Carrie on her blog, Loaves and Stitches.  The recipes can be found on their blogs or in the cookbook Baking with Julia.

After I made these, I found the video of Julia Child and Nancy Silverton making both the sticky buns and the savory pockets.  It might have been helpful to watch this first! Baking with Julia: Sticky Buns

The dough turned out just like it said it would in the recipe and the finished products tasted delicious.  I mixed up the dough yesterday and refrigerated it overnight.  This morning I used half of it to make the sticky buns.  The key word for this recipe is BUTTER.

First you make the sponge and watch the flour on top crack. Cool.

IMG_2002

Then you beat the butter into submission and add it to the sponge with more flour.IMG_2003Nice squishy dough, that gets to rise for 1 1/2 hours, deflate, then refrigerate overnight.
IMG_2006 The next morning, I took half of the dough and rolled it out, with more butter added.IMG_2007After resting and re-rolling the dough, it’s sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar, chopped pecans, and placed into a cake pan with MORE butter and brown sugar on the bottom.
IMG_2010IMG_2009After another rising, the rolls are baked for 27 minutes.
IMG_2012They turned out really well.  I’ll make these again for sure!IMG_2013IMG_2016Then for dinner tonight, I made the rest of the brioche dough into the savory pockets with the mashed red potatoes, goat cheese, caramelized onions and asparagus. Labor intensive, but very good.  I’m feeling like a real baker today…

IMG_0373

8 thoughts on “Recipe #33: Savory Brioche Pockets and #8: Pecan Sticky Buns

  1. Wow!!! Both your sticky buns and pockets look great! Fantastic job. Now I really want to use the other half of my dough to make those sticky buns! Your dough looks beautiful rolled up with the pecans. And yep, that video would have been great to watch beforehand. I always forget to look for Julia’s videos before I start these recipes. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. They do both look fabulous! I did not make the sticky buns either first time around. So hard to decide what to do with the other half of the dough (I don’t need 12-15 pockets). Though it would be nice to have them in the freezer to be ready on the go for when I don’t feel like cooking.

    • Thank you. I’m wondering if the dough can be frozen before you roll it out to make the pockets. It would be great to not have to take 2 days to make these.

  3. Great choice to use half the dough for the sticky buns – they were a favourite for us, too. Your savoury pockets look perfect.

Leave a Reply

