Recipe #37: Summer Vegetable Tart

Next Tuesday, July 16th, the Tuesdays with Dorie group will be baking the Summer Vegetable Tart on page 436 of Baking with Julia. But I’ll be in France for the next two weeks on a 15 day river cruise, enjoying first hand some delicious French food and wine!!!!

Yesterday I went ahead and baked the vegetable tart so I won’t keep getting behind on the recipes.  It’s made with phyllo dough sheets layered in a tart pan for the crust. I wish there had been a photo, because I wasn’t completely clear what the instructions were telling me to do with it.  The recipe called for mushrooms, but I substituted swiss chard because I have LOTS of chard in my garden. I added a red bell pepper, a yellow bell pepper, an onion, some garlic, and two 4 ounce packages of goat cheese.  The crust is baked unfilled and the vegetables are sauteed in a skillet, then the goat cheese in mixed in to make a creamy filling.  After the ring is removed from the tart pan, it holds up better than I expected it to.  We liked it, but we thought it was a little too heavy on the goat cheese.  Next time I think 4 ounces would be plenty. Au revoir and bon appetit!

IMG_2280 IMG_2281

One thought on “Recipe #37: Summer Vegetable Tart

  1. Your tart looks lovely with the Swiss chard. I felt the tart could have used a little more color myself. I think a lot of folks had issues with understanding how to form the crust. Pictures are nice – I’m more of a visual learner myself. Hope you are enjoying your vacation (which I’m sure you are)!!

Leave a Reply

